
Tesla: the company that sold
Tesla bought $1.50 billion of bitcoin in early 2021 and sold most of it within eighteen months. The public record shows who approved the purchase. It does not show the rule for the sale.
What happened
January 2021
The policy changes, then the purchase
Tesla updated its investment policy so that part of its cash could go into alternative reserve assets, naming digital assets, gold bullion and gold exchange-traded funds. Its annual report says the policy was approved by the Audit Committee of the board. Tesla then bought $1.50 billion of bitcoin and said it expected to start accepting bitcoin as payment.[1]
March 2021
Bitcoin accepted, and a first sale
Tesla began taking bitcoin for cars, and its chief executive said bitcoin received would be kept and not converted. In the same quarter Tesla sold about a tenth of its holding for $272 million. It recorded $128 million of gains and $27 million of impairment, a net $101 million benefit to the quarter. The chief executive said publicly that the sale was meant to show that bitcoin was liquid.[2][6][7]
May 2021
Payments suspended, with a commitment
Tesla stopped taking bitcoin for cars, citing the fossil fuels used in mining. The same announcement said Tesla would not sell its bitcoin.[8]
Second quarter of 2022
The second sale
Tesla converted about 75% of the bitcoin it had bought into cash, adding $936 million to the balance sheet. On the earnings call the chief executive gave the reason: uncertainty about COVID lockdowns in China and a wish to hold more cash. He said it was not a verdict on bitcoin. What remained was carried at $218 million.[3][10]
2021 to 2023
The impairment years
Under the accounting rules then in force, bitcoin was carried at cost less impairment. It could be written down and never written back up. For 2021 as a whole Tesla recorded $101 million of impairment, and for 2022 another $204 million. By the end, its digital assets sat on the books at $184 million.[2][9][11][12]
Fourth quarter of 2024
Fair value arrives
Tesla adopted the fair-value standard, ASU 2023-08, a year before it became mandatory. Its digital assets went from $184 million to $1,076 million on the balance sheet, and the quarter carried a $600 million mark-to-market gain.[4][12]
2025 to 2026
Holding, and marking every quarter
Tesla reported 11,509 bitcoin at the end of 2024 and the same number at March 31, 2026, at a cost of $386 million, or about $33,500 a coin. The value now runs through earnings each quarter. Tesla booked a $125 million loss in the first quarter of 2025, and a $334 million loss in the first half of 2026 as its digital assets fell from $1,008 million to $674 million.[4][5][13][14]
Four questions, and what the record shows
A sale policy answers four questions before a sale happens. This is what Tesla’s public record says about each.
- When may bitcoin be sold?
- Not stated. The filings we reviewed describe the policy that permitted the purchase. They do not describe conditions for a sale. The clearest public commitment on the subject, in May 2021, was that Tesla would not sell. About a year later it had converted about 75% of what it bought.
- Who approves a sale?
- Not stated. The Audit Committee approved the investment policy. The record does not say who authorized either sale.
- How is a sale disclosed?
- After the fact. Both sales first appeared in quarterly results. The reason for the second came on the earnings call.
- How are the proceeds used?
- They were added to cash. No use was given beyond liquidity.
What the accounting did
Under the old rules the books understated the holding by more than a billion dollars in early 2021 and could only move down. Under fair value the balance sheet is accurate and the income statement absorbs every swing.
| Date | On the balance sheet | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 31, 2021 | $1.33 billion | Cost less impairment | Market value was $2.48 billion |
| December 31, 2021 | $1.26 billion | Cost less impairment | Market value was $1.99 billion |
| June 30, 2022 | $218 million | Cost less impairment | After the second sale |
| March 31, 2024 | $184 million | Cost less impairment | As first reported, before the restatement to fair value |
| December 31, 2024 | $1,076 million | Fair value | |
| December 31, 2025 | $1,008 million | Fair value | |
| June 30, 2026 | $674 million | Fair value |
What a board can take from it
Approving the purchase is half a policy.
Tesla documented who could buy and what they could buy. Nothing public covered the sale, and the sale was the decision that drew the questions.
A public statement is not a policy.
A single announcement committed the company to not selling. Nothing in the record shows the board adopted that position, and the company later acted against it. A written policy sets what executives can say as well as what they can do.
Liquidity was a legitimate reason.
Holding more cash in an uncertain period is a defensible treasury decision. It would have read as policy, not reversal, had the conditions been written down beforehand.
Fair value changes what the board sees.
Under impairment the remaining position sat on the books at $184 million and did not move. Since 2024 it has moved reported results by hundreds of millions of dollars in a quarter. The earnings effect now has to be modeled before the quarter ends, not explained after it.
Sources
- Tesla Form 10-K for 2020
- Tesla Form 10-Q, March 31, 2021
- Tesla Form 10-Q, June 30, 2022
- Tesla Form 10-Q, March 31, 2025
- Tesla Form 10-Q, June 30, 2026
- Decrypt, March 24, 2021
- Fortune (Bloomberg), April 27, 2021
- The Block, May 12, 2021
- CNBC, February 7, 2022
- CNBC, July 20, 2022
- Decrypt, February 1, 2023
- Decrypt, January 29, 2025
- CoinDesk, April 22, 2026
- CryptoSlate, July 23, 2026
Satoshi Institute has no relationship with Tesla. This analysis draws only on public filings and published reporting. It says nothing about Tesla’s internal policies beyond what those sources show. Published . Last reviewed .
Other case studies
- MARA: the sale that retired the debt
Sold 15,133 bitcoin in three weeks and used the money to retire $1.0 billion of convertible notes below face value.
- Strategy: “never sell” was not the policy
Sold in May 2026 for the first time since 2022. The board program followed in June. Weekly disclosure, and no price trigger.
- Sequans: the lenders held the keys
Raised equity and debt to buy bitcoin and pledged all of it to the lenders. Selling the pledged coins needed their consent. None left fourteen months later.
- Block: the rule covers buying
Two published documents and a monthly buying formula. No conditions for a sale. No sale reported.
- Metaplanet: a sale to prove it could
Sold 10,000 bitcoin and bought back 11,000 in one quarter, to show rating agencies it could. Its position on selling came with the disclosure.
The Sale Policy Sprint answers the four questions
A board-ready policy that settles when bitcoin may be sold, who approves it, how it is disclosed and how the proceeds are used. Fixed fee, 15 business days.
